Large crochet motifs

Hi! My name’s Lesley and I’m addicted to crochet motifs! I can’t get enough of them – I have bags of mostly small motifs at home that I’ve made over the years just because I wanted to try out a particular pattern or technique. They’re just so much fun!

Dedri Uys from Look at What I Made has chosen large crocheted motifs as her trend for the Deramores Blog Competition.

I discovered larger motifs through the overlay mandalas from CAROcreated on Etsy.

Sunrise overlay crochet Overlay crochet mandala

And of course, Dedri’s Sophie’s Garden takes this to a new level!

10958486_1413531178943988_575108464_n

I recently took the pattern for Joyce Lewis’s Crocodile Flower on Ravelry and made it into the centre of a small blanket for the children at my daughters’ school to use for their dolls and soft toys. (A great excuse to try out all sorts of different motifs and techniques!) That works as another large motif. You could take almost any motif and add extra rounds to it to make a large motif!

11084764_880758495298997_297990138_n

Now I’m challenging myself to make my own large motif. I started out thinking square, but it didn’t quite turn out that way!

Giant hexagon

The first time I looked at it all laid out, newly finished, I was completely shocked at just how much I love it! And taken aback that I’ve managed to create something this amazing from scratch myself!

Giant hexagon Giant hexagon

This giant hexagon is a whopping 29 inches across, corner to corner, or 26 inches from side to side! WOW!

One of my favourite bits of this is the border with alternating front post treble stitches worked around the corresponding treble 2 rows below.

Hexagon border

And can you imagine what an entire blanked made up of motifs like this might look like? Here – I’ll help you!

Blanket simulation

Isn’t it amazing? Think I’m going to have to fine-tune the pattern a bit just so that I can make the blanket!

 

This post is my submission to the Deramores Craft Blog Competition 2015. Deramores is the UK’s number one online retailer of knitting and crochet supplies. Visit www.deramores.com for more details.

Giant hexagon Giant hexagon
8 thoughts on “Large crochet motifs

Leave a Reply

