I can crochet a rainbow …… (sing along)

Well, maybe not the singing, but I can crochet a rainbow.

6169265020_37f36513bb_o

Rainbow colours is another of the trends identified in the Deramores Blog Competition, chosen by Heather Leal of The Patchwork Heart. Heather’s blog post is here where she talks about her love of colour and how, as a mathematician, she loves a bit of order and how a rainbow combined order with her passion for colour.

Well, I’m not a mathematician, but I probably have a similar background in maths, science and computing. And I also love a bit of order combined with colour.

Heather’s blog post also talks about different colours and rainbow combinations, not only limited to the traditional rainbow spectrum. She also, very generously shares on her blog her colour recipes, details of the colours she uses to create her wonderful rainbows! I see that I’m going to have to make a gorgeous rainbow ripple like Heather’s!

If you’re looking for more rainbow inspiration, then Kathryn Vercillo of Crochet Concupiscence has created a Pinterest board of rainbow crochet she has featured on her website – they all look amazing!

I’ve also played with rainbow colours before.

Rainbow flowers Rainbow games Rainbow block

But it’s time for a new challenge. This time, the starting point for my rainbow was to raid my stash for all the shades of blue I could find.

Rainbow blues

But there was something missing and I knew exactly what it was:

Rainbow shades

The orange and yellow really make my rainbow pop! This pattern is based on the Lacy Round Ripple Blanket from Mama’s Stitchery Projects, but I’ve added braided chains to the points of the ripples.

Rainbow mandala

I’m torn between taking this further to make a large round ripple, or just leaving it as it is. What do you think?

You’ll notice that all my entries for the Deramores competition work with this rainbow – it’s a kind of sunrise/sunset rainbow shading from a midnight black through fading shades of blue until you get to the rising/setting sun. I love it! Once I started working with it I couldn’t put it down!

 

This post is my submission to the Deramores Craft Blog Competition 2015. Deramores is the UK’s number one online retailer of knitting and crochet supplies. Visit www.deramores.com for more details.

Rainbow Mandala

2 thoughts on “I can crochet a rainbow …… (sing along)

Leave a Reply

