What’s in a name?

What does into naming a design? I’d be really interested to know how designers approach this.

For me, this is the part of designing that I find most difficult. Often I really struggle.

Of course, there are occasional designs that have been inspired by things I’ve seen elsewhere (usually online). Here is an image of a Flying Swallows quilt block pattern.

swallows_bg

My take on it? My Flying Stars biscornu. And the name of my biscornu follows on from the name of the quilt block.

il_570xN.737966713_q2m7

That one was easy!

Quakerish wasn’t too hard either – it’s based around a Quaker motif.

quakerish Quaker_Motifs_01

But other designs, like my Jigsaw biscornu, are a nightmare to name! (I’m still not sure that Jigsaw is right.) I can hardly believe how difficult it is!

And when it came to naming my Etsy shop, well, that took months to find just the right name! At least, once I had the right name for Etsy, then the blog name followed from there (thank goodness!).

I wonder if other designers struggle like this to name their designs? Etsy shop owners naming their shops? Or bloggers naming their blogs?

At least I found it easy to name my children! And thankfully I still love their names!

 

References – thought it would be neater to put these at the end!

  1. Flying Swallows image from http://www.earlywomenmasters.net/quilts/s/swallows/index.html
  2. Quaker motif from http://www.needlenthread.com/2010/10/developing-a-spot-sampler-add-a-quaker-motif.html
Leave a Reply

